Recovery of deleted items
Overview
If deleted in error:
it may be possible to recover SNMP-based watches
it is not possible to recover Controller-based watches
SNMP-based watches
When deleted, a SNMP-based watch is moved to a 'holding area', data is not collected, it does not appear on any Highlight pages and is not billed. The watch and its collected, historical data will be completely deleted (purged) after a period of time (usually this is approximately one month). If you accidentally delete a watch contact us immediately and Highlight Support will attempt to recover it. If recovery is possible, then the full tree structure (folder and location) is recovered at the same time. Subwatches (such as performance tests and VLANs) can also be recovered. The parent watch will be recovered (if needed) at the same time. See the section below for more details.
Controller-based watches
When a non-SNMP controller or device is deleted it is fully and immediately deleted as are all the subwatches and locations associated with it. These watches can be rediscovered if a new controller is created but historical data previously shown in Highlight is not recovered. The deletion of the controller or device is shown in the Audit log but the deletion of all associated subwatches is not.
Recovery of SNMP-based watches
The following items can possibly be recovered:
bearer watches (link health watches - not controller-based)
class of service watches
VLANs
MLEs
performance tests (not controller-based)
WiFi controllers (not Meraki or Extreme)
users
folders
locations (if not auto-created)
The following subwatches can be recovered with their parent watch. If these items are disabled on their parent watch then re-enabled before the recovery period has passed, the existing subwatch will be recovered:
Flow watches
NBAR watches
switches (not Meraki nor Extreme)
The following items cannot be recovered:
containers
performance test templates
Deletions are recorded in the Audit log as a delete action with full details. Restoring and purging is also recorded as a delete action in the Audit log but without full details.
Find out more about deletion.
Last updated
Was this helpful?

