For the complete documentation index, see llms.txt. This page is also available as Markdown.

User

Insight UI - Consolidated Admin

Overview

This dialog enables you to create or edit a user account.

When creating a new user, the selected folder or location in the Network Explorer tree is significant. The user will have access to the current selected location or folder and any subfolders.

This function is only available to Admin users with the permission Manage users.

User events are recorded in the Audit log.

See the user authentication page for more details on the new user, account renewal and account expiry processes.

On the Admin page, select the containing or parent folder or location and click "+".

User Details

Create User

New user: Enter the Email address and Name (First name and Surname in alphanumeric characters) of the user. The email address must be unique within Highlight. These two fields are required.

Edit User

Existing user: Email address and Name are shown. You can edit the Name and Save. To edit the Email address contact us. This section also shows when the account was created and when the user was last active.

Last active may also show Awaiting email confirmation

A link to how we store personal data is also included.

Account Details

Expires

Shows the expiry date. If expired, the user cannot to log in until they follow the renewal process and the Status column shows a red Expired badge.

Reset

Resets user expiry date to three months or one year (depending on the folder/location)

Never

Not generally available. Contact us if you'd like to set an account to never expire.

Suspended

Stops access to Highlight without deleting the account. If suspended, the user cannot to log in and the Status column shows a red Suspended badge.

For a new user

Expiry date is automatically completed

For an existing user

Shows the expiry date and if the account is suspended

Permissions

The permission Manage users is needed to create or edit users.

A user cannot grant a permission which they do not have themselves.

User Permissions

User

View 'Logins' report: accessed via the Reporting Audit Log section, this allows you to view basic login details for all users in the selected folder, a sample is shown below. See User logins for more details.

Manage applications: this permission allows you to create/edit AppVisâ„¢ groups and assign applications to groups. See AppVis groups for more details. This permission also controls who can edit Flow alias names. See Flow detail - Data table edit for more details.

Watch

View pending list: if you do not have this permission then the Admin Pending tab will not be available. This permission allows you to create a new watch in Admin Pending. You can also edit a watch whilst it's still in the Pending area. The Approve new watches and Activate new watches permissions will not work unless this permission is also set.

Approve new watches: if you do not have this permission then only a green tick or a red cross will show under OM (Order Management).

Activate new watches: if you do not have this permission then the Activate button will be inactive (greyed out).

Edit watches: allows you to edit an existing watch. This permission also enables you to create and edit containers to display as heat tiles.

Admin

View Admin reports: the User and Watch reports are available if you have this permission (see Admin reports).

Manage folders/locations: this is the main permission for administering the Highlight tree and allows you to create a new folder or location and edit an existing folder or location. This permission also gives access to the Status Alerting Sensitivity panel and the Admin Agents page.

Manage billing points: this is the permission for setting up billing on a folder or altering existing billing and will typically only be granted to a very small number of senior users.

Manage users: this is the permission for administering users and allows you to create a new user, edit an existing user, reset expiry dates, suspend accounts and reset passwords as required.

Manage maintenance: this is the permission which gives two ways to exclude an outage from Highlight's availability calculations:

  1. Before the event - create a container and schedule it for maintenance, if an outage happens during scheduled maintenance alerts are suppressed and availability statistics are not affected.

  2. After the event - exclude an outage, if (for example) a maintenance period occurred but was not scheduled in advance or if an incident happened which was not the fault of the service provider.

Manage authentication: this is the permission for administering federated authentication (SSO - Single Sign On) of users and will typically only be granted to a very small number of senior users.

Restricted

View heat tiles only: This permission restricts the view offered by Highlight to Status Heat Tiles only and is typically used on its own. It is not a security feature, permitting the user other views if the URL is known.

Save

Save and welcome

Shown by default for new users, this button stores details, sends a welcome email to the user with login information and creates a weekly scheduled report email.

Save

Shown by default for existing users, this button stores details without sending an email or creating a weekly scheduled report email. Changes may result in the user being logged out.

Switch between Save and Save and welcome using the drop-down on the right of the button. Send an additional welcome email to existing users by selecting Save and welcome.

If needed, users can click the Forgotten your password? link on the login screen to receive an email with details about resetting their password.

Last updated

Was this helpful?